I Died Last Night

I closed my eyes and died last night
while whispering my prayers
and slipped into the painless void
the dark of nothing there
but then I heard a singing bird
and the odd croak of a crow
“Shut up!  Shut up!”
he was certainly annoyed
I wondered why so?
my eyes then opened in surprise
amazed to be again alive
another day to live and learn
to shine the light that burns within
one more day to breathe and be
before I die again

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “I Died Last Night”

  1. pambrittain Says:

    Last night I woke myself up snoring. Sounded like a zipper being zipped. Sure am glad you’re alive.

Leave a Reply

